As the University of Michigan’s Anti-Racism Faculty Hiring Initiative moves forward, the Office of the Provost is inviting proposals for the second round of clusters of new tenure-track faculty whose scholarship focuses on structural racism and racial inequality. Proposals will be accepted through Oct. 1.


Following activity in the first round of the initiative, searches are now underway for faculty members who will join the two clusters selected for funding last spring: one focusing on racial justice in health care, the other on racial justice in technology. Together they will bring eight new faculty members to campus in seven schools and colleges.

The search process for each cluster includes extensive outreach to recruit diverse applicant pools, as well as robust collaboration across hiring units and departments to support the new hires and connect their work with that of current U-M faculty.

The Anti-Racism Faculty Hiring Initiative is a component of the university’s multifaceted approach to addressing systemic racism. For the second phase of the cross-campus initiative, guidelines stipulate that each proposal can request two to four hires. In this round, up to eight new hires may be approved for funding. The timing of the third round will be announced by the end of the fall term.

Faculty hired through the initiative will broaden and deepen anti-racism research at the university and contribute to the development of anti-racist pedagogy, curricula and engagement. Scholars from all disciplines and areas are encouraged to submit proposals.

“We recognize that this past year has been highly eventful as well as challenging with respect to urgent concerns about equity, racial justice and anti-racism, and that leading and emerging research, scholarship, teaching and engagement in these areas will take many forms,” said Susan M. Collins, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs. “The selection committee members come from an array of fields and bring deep expertise in anti-racism work to their deliberations.”

Collins also identified the 13-member committee that will review the second round of proposals and make the final selections for funding. It is chaired by Sara Blair, vice provost for academic and faculty affairs; Patricia S. Yeager Collegiate Professor of English Language and Literature, and professor of English language and literature, LSA.

Other members are:

  • Audrey Bennett, University Diversity and Social Transformation Professor and professor of art and design, Penny W. Stamps School of Art & Design.
  • Tabbye Chavous, director, National Center for Institutional Diversity; associate vice president for research; professor of psychology, LSA; and professor of education, School of Education.
  • Harley Etienne, associate professor of urban and regional planning, A. Alfred Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning.
  • Larry Gant, professor of social work, School of Social Work; and professor of art and design, Penny W. Stamps School of Art & Design.
  • David Gier, dean, Paul Boylan Collegiate Professor of Music, and professor of music, School of Music, Theatre & Dance.
  • Barbra A. Meek, professor of anthropology and linguistics, LSA.
  • Elizabeth Moje, dean, George Herbert Mead Collegiate Professor of Education, and professor of education, School of Education; Arthur F. Thurnau Professor.
  • Anthony P. Mora, associate professor of American culture and history, LSA.
  • Shobita Parthasarathy, professor of public policy, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy; and professor of women’s and gender studies, LSA.
  • Margo Schlanger, Wade H. and Dores M. McCree Collegiate Professor of Law, and professor of law, Law School.
  • Michael Solomon, dean, Rackham Graduate School, vice provost for academic affairs – graduate studies; and professor of chemical engineering and of macromolecular science and engineering, College of Engineering.
  • Alford A. Young Jr., Arthur F. Thurnau Professor; Edgar G. Epps Collegiate Professor of Sociology, professor of sociology and of Afroamerican and African studies, and associate director, National Center for Institutional Diversity and Center for Social Solutions, LSA; and professor of public policy, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy.

This article originally appeared in the September 15, 2021 edition of The University Record