Nominations are now being accepted for the Harold R. Johnson Diversity Service Award through March 15.

Established in 1996, the award is named in honor of the School of Social Work dean emeritus and recognizes faculty members whose service contributes to the development of a culturally and ethnically diverse campus community.

Nominees must be full-time tenured or tenure-track faculty on the Ann Arbor campus.

Criteria for selection include:

• Commitment to diversity as an important part of the university’s educational mission.

• Public or academically oriented endeavors that demonstrate intellectual excellence and commitment to cultural diversity in service, teaching, scholarship or creative activity.

• Efforts to increase diversity within one’s academic unit or the university.

• Efforts to use scholarly or creative work to enhance the success of students and faculty of diverse cultural and racial backgrounds.

• Willingness to serve as a mentor to students.

• Efforts to bring about equity in our society.

Honorees in 2016 included Dr. R. Alexander Blackwood of the Medical School, Omolola Eniola-Adefeso of the College of Engineering, Arline T. Geronimus of the Institute for Social Research and School of Public Health, Robert Jagers of the School of Education, Nojin Kwak of LSA, Jennifer Linderman of COE, and Ruby Tapia of LSA.

Five awards are presented annually and include a $5,000 stipend.

More Information

Learn more or nominate a faculty member on the Programs and Awards page of the ODEI website.